Second annual Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing

Nightingale awards

The celebration of Pediatric Nurses Week (October 2–6) kicked off on Tuesday, October 3, when more than 200 nurses were recognized at the second annual Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing. Named in honor of pioneering nurse Florence Nightingale, the banquet was established to commemorate the extraordinary accomplishments of our bedside nurses, nurse leaders and colleagues who go above and beyond the call of duty.

“Nurses excel at building nurturing relationships with patients, family members and other members of our care teams,” said Dennis Lund, MD, chief medical officer. “Our nurses set high standards for themselves and constantly strive to meet and exceed them.”

Held in the lobby of the new main Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford building, the evening began with a heartfelt tribute to nurses presented by Aida Sandoval, the mother of formerly conjoined twins who were separated and cared for at our hospital. That moving introduction was followed by the recognition of the prior year’s Daisy award recipients, nurses who attained new certifications and degrees, published nurses, and professional development program (PNDP) advancements.

“Nightingale awardees demonstrate leadership, advocacy, teamwork, mentoring, innovation and outstanding patient care in all they do,” said Kelly Johnson, chief nursing officer and vice president of patient care services. Johnson, along with Luanne Smedley, administrative director for clinical access and care coordination, presented the Nightingale Awards to the following 26 recipients:

  • Elizabeth Woo, RN, for clinical excellence in nursing
  • Simierdeep Sohal, BSN, RN, CPN, for emerging talent
  • Pamela Simon, MSN, RN, CPNP, CPON, for excellence in advocacy
  • Julie Kennedy, MSN, RN, RNC-NIC, for excellence in mentoring
  • Merian Van Eijk, MSN, RN, CPHON, for excellence in nursing leadership
  • Darcy Swisher, BSN, RN, CCRN, for excellence in community outreach
  • Katherine Kent, BSN, RN, CCRN, for excellence in innovation
  • Sara Silberschatz, BSN, RN, CCRN, for excellence in quality and safety
  • Interdisciplinary RN Handoff Leadership Team, for excellence as an inter-professional team: Beth Faulkner, RN; Meg Groom, RN; Maryam Bagherpour Azari, RN; Kim Davies, RN; Sharlene Chung, RN; Veronica Martinez, RN; Joy Suber, RN; Andrew Helgesen, RN; Julie Kennedy, RN; Suzanne Federer, RN; Yvette Keers-Mayorga, RN; Kathleen Casey, RN; Patrice Sellers, RN; Nicole Vezina, RN
  • PCU 374, for excellence in teamwork
  • Hugo Gonzalez, MDiv, chaplain, Friend of Nursing award
  • Julie Good, MD, DABMA, Friend of Nursing – Provider award
  • Cheryl Slaney, MSN, RN, CPN, Eminence award

Congratulations to all nurses and friends of nursing honored at this year’s Nightingale Awards for Nursing Excellence celebration.


Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)